egypturnash: (Default)
[personal profile] egypturnash
I finally saw 'Star Wars Episode 2: When Clones Attack'.

See, a friend of mine who works at a videogame company invited me along to a party they were having to celebrate the wrap of their SW2 game: dinner, then SW2 on an IMAX screen at the Bridge theatre. The company was buying. I dithered a bit, as I'd really decided after SW1 that I just didn't want to give Lucas any more money for this crap; did I want to give him someone else's money, even?

I decided, oh, what the hell, and went.


Three quarters of the way through, relieved to be watching fun-looking spaceships flying low over ragged planets instead of two people mouthing the worst romantic dialogue ever, in the most leaden cadences imaginable, I realized something. I wasn't pissed off at this movie like I was at 'Phantom Menace'. Instead, I was sad. All this skill and talent poured into telling such a badly-written and predictable story. THe only things remotely approaching surprises were who the clone army was cloned from, and Yoda kicking ass, which was quite well spoiled before the movie hit the theatres in the first place, I seem to recall.

Why can't we see this level of flash applied to a good story? To one with interesting, nuanced characters, in a world that's not cobbled together from third-hand leftover ideas? Damnit, I don't give a damn how Anakin turns into Darth Vader. Screw making 'Star Wars 3: Whatever It's Called'. Take all that money and skill and technology and get Iain M. Banks to write something to film instead.

SW2 sucked less than SW1; if this trend continues, maybe SW3 will be an okay movie. I don't think I'll be rushing to go see it, if at all.


Oh, and watching normal movies on IMAX is a bad idea. I really didn't need to see Obi-Wan Kenobi's pimples. There was a trailer for 'Lion King' in colossal-screen release in front of it; I easily saw every little mistake in inbetweening every fur ruff without even trying to look for it... I shall retain my status as one of the few people in the worlds of furry fandom and animation who has not seen that film, I think.

I'm spending the night on his couch; we will go see a matinee of 'Treasure Planet' tomorrow. I really have no idea what to expect of it... John said seeing it "was like being raped".

It made me wince.

Date: 2002-12-07 01:59 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] octantis.livejournal.com
http://www.sunspot.net/business/bal-disney1206,0,1786527.story?coll=bal-business-headlines

But I haven't seen the movie yet. I know Gaelif was unimpressed.

Re: It made me wince.

Date: 2002-12-07 03:03 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] octantis.livejournal.com
An added note... many of the people at Animation Nation seem to think the article is propaganda or a cover-up. Not being a pro, I don't really know who's right either way.

Date: 2002-12-07 10:20 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] martes.livejournal.com
I thought "Clones" was an okay movie, but it didn't blow me away or anything.

The problems with the new Star Wars trilogy probably rests soley on Lucas. Isolated from the real world, given unlimited funds, and surrounded by an army of yes-men that do anything he says, he probably belives everything he writes is Hemingway.

Date: 2002-12-07 08:32 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] turbinerocks.livejournal.com
I would shit an entire Encyclopedia Brittanica if a feature film from one of Iain Banks' Culture novels were made. :D

Profile

egypturnash: (Default)
Margaret Trauth

October 2020

S M T W T F S
    123
45678 910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 03:25 am