egypturnash: (Default)
[personal profile] egypturnash
So I'm working at Spümcø again. Doing the Flash on what is hopefully the last of a five-cartoon contract with Cartoon Network dot com. It's about Yogi's little buddy Boo Boo and the exact relationship between the two bears.

For a while I was the only person doing the Flash work on it. Finally, there's someone else working on it, which means it has a decent hope of meeting the deadline. Unfortunately, the whole cartoon is in one hugemungous file due to John's love of reuse. So it's impossible for two people to work on it at once. The solution? Work in shifts! So obvious!

And who gets to be the night shift? Well, who struggles to work 'white man hours', never manages to come in on time, always stays a little late? Yep. Me.

(I was going to include a little SWF I whipped out of 'Peggy Working Night Shift at the Cartoon Factory', but Livejournal seems to toss the tags right out. So go here to see it.)

So I now hop on the bus with my bicycle at about 6, and get to work around 7. In the evening. I then stay here until 3AM, and bicycle home in the middle of the night, cutting straight through all of Burbank and into mid-Glendale where I currently live. It takes about an hour.

The first two nights, I rode my bike both to and from Spümcø. Surprisingly enough, my legs did not complain too much, despite the fact that it's been quite some time since I cycled regularly. The body part that did rebel was my scrawny little bottom... sitting on a bicycle seat for one hour is quite enough; two hours, even if seperated by eight hours in a soft chair, is Too Much.

Oh, and when I'm done with this cartoon in a few weeks, I should be switching over to work on the new Ren & Stimpy. Not doing layout or anything like that, unfortunately, just timing out animatics in Premiere. I seem to be stuck on this weird technical kind of path that I really need to break out of. But my name will be in the credits of Ren and Stimpy. This is so cool.

Date: 2002-07-02 05:19 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dour.livejournal.com
I recall you describing that Boo Boo cartoon whilst driving around at ConFurence... I'm very much looking forward to seeing it. :> Re: R&S... booya!

New Ren and Stimpy

Date: 2002-07-02 09:10 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] perlandria.livejournal.com
Oh please universe, let me be around Paka when he sees this post.
He is going to ummm what is the word? Plotz?

Date: 2002-07-02 10:36 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] martes.livejournal.com
Be careful riding a bike after dark. Drivers arn't paying attention half the time while it's daylight out, and after dark you get the drunks and crazy people. If you don't have a light for your bike, you should get one asap. Ditto a helment. I could take up several paragraphs with my close calls while bike riding, and I hardly ever went riding after dark.

Date: 2002-07-02 02:10 pm (UTC)
ext_646: (Default)
From: [identity profile] shatterstripes.livejournal.com
I had a light but someone stole i off my bike while it was parked. At my apartment. Some people. I've been meaning to get a new one; maybe when I go out to run some errands today I'll include that, since you put the thought near the top of my head.

3AM, I'm finding, is actually some sort of sweet spot for empty roads. Earlier and you still have late-night party stragglers; later and you have people who get up early to do whatever. Riding from 3-4 in the morning, though, I only see about five cars in the entire hour-long trip.

Date: 2002-07-03 01:08 am (UTC)
ext_646: (Default)
From: [identity profile] shatterstripes.livejournal.com
I went and got a new front light for my bike today. It takes four AA batteries and is pretty bright. I also replaced the batteries in the tail light (I left it on all day after the first ride to and from Spümcø, and they drained). My ride home will be easier now, and possibly safer.

Thanks, Mommy Roz. *grin*

Date: 2002-07-02 11:11 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dustmeat.livejournal.com
I saw ONE Yogi and Booboo cartoon from Spumco and that was enough. Great SWF though! Now how will we look for your name in the credits of Renn and Stimpy if we do not know it?

Date: 2002-07-02 02:27 pm (UTC)
ext_646: (Default)
From: [identity profile] shatterstripes.livejournal.com
*grin* I do tend to be quiet about my real name, don't I? Old habits die hard.

-Peggy

Profile

egypturnash: (Default)
Margaret Trauth

October 2020

S M T W T F S
    123
45678 910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 09:23 am