egypturnash: (smirky)
[personal profile] egypturnash
Got together with [livejournal.com profile] ultraken as we tend to do on Friday or Saturday, and have since we both ended up in LA at the behest of our careers. On his semi-impulsive suggestion, we went to see 'Underworld'.

I don't see why it keeps getting bad reviews. The movie delivered exactly what the trailers promised: vampires, werewolves, fighting, and angst. And of course betrayal. And a wonderful soundtrack that consisted mostly of industrial sound collages; I wish they hadn't dropped music over the first few scenes of the big vampire/werewolf fight near the end! And lots of very blue and black footage; I swear the only colors in the movie were blue, black, white, and red, except for some flashbacks that were swirly-processed sepiatone. It was a fun piece of mind candy that had no annoying pretense to it, just vampires and werewolves in a centuries-old grudge match. (A very personal one, since the wolves are just as immortal as the bats in this.) It gets positive word of mouth from me. Go see it.

Also, there were 'subliminals' of some kind. An animator's eye picks up one-frame glitches and pops... Several times during the movie, little clusters of orange dots popped up in the middle of white areas. I think they were two frames, one of orange dots, one of the same dots in black, then back to the white ground they were on, though that may have been a persistence of vision thing. I first noticed them in the scene where Selene (the vampire chick on the posters) is taking Michael (this mortal who becomes part of the plot) to a secluded room for safekeeping, then a lot popped up in the flashbacks, and in a few other Important Scenes. It was really distracting for me, to be honest. I vaguely wonder what meaning they were supposed to have. They were patterns of about 4-7 dots, in a few horizontal rows. I'm sure someone is dedicating a website to them even as I speak, or will be doing so once the DVD comes out and ordinary mortals can single-frame.

(These were NOT the end-of-reel change markings that appear in the upper right corner of every feature to alert the projectionist to a reel change; these were right in the center of the screen, in the middle of reels, and mostly in scenes important to the plot.)

Afterwards we went to Fatburger, where I determined that a Baby Fat is quite enough for me nowadays. On the ride back to my place there was some, um, interesting conversation, best kept mostly private. Yeah.

Date: 2003-10-04 11:29 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dravalen.livejournal.com
Yeah, I liked underworld, my only disappointment was maybe some of the CG and action scenes, they could have been done better, but then that's not really what the movie is about.

Date: 2003-10-04 11:51 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lapdragon.livejournal.com
Those dots -may- have been the MPAA's version of data corruption-protection. While most people can't see them, cameras do and they're somehow supposed to screw it up.

I think.

Date: 2003-10-05 12:36 am (UTC)
ext_646: (Default)
From: [identity profile] shatterstripes.livejournal.com
huh, I dunno, it was just in a few scenes, and they seemed to be in human-recognizable patterns rather than weird processor-confusing ones.

They sure screwed it up for me, because I started halfway watching for them instead of watching the movie. Which sucked because it was a fun movie.
From: [identity profile] wolfwings.livejournal.com
Link that explains the new Crap Codes (http://www.suntimes.com/output/answ-man/sho-sunday-ebert05.html) that the MPAA inflicted on some films, which are specifically made to cause digital compression to barf and resync, causing further barfing due to running out of bandwidth from detecting constant 'scene changes' so the copies turn out unusable.

Date: 2003-10-05 12:20 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ultraken.livejournal.com
I wasn't too keen on the Lycan design, as they weren't particularly wolf-like, but I've seen much much worse. :)

Date: 2003-10-05 01:55 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hydra-velsen.livejournal.com
I've been attempting to go see Underworld, but the person I normally go with is a freak about reviews. It got bad reviews, so they wont go. Grr! I hate people like that. Thankfully that person does have enough redeeming qualities.

As far as FatBurger goes...

Date: 2003-10-05 10:08 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] wolfwings.livejournal.com
...last time I went a month or so back, I ended up plowing through 2 1lb burgers there before I was done. =-.-=

I do really need to go see Underworld though... it sounds like a fun movie. =^.^=

Date: 2003-10-06 09:58 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] zrath.livejournal.com
I saw Underworld at a Sony employee screening and didn't see any dots.
My eyesight is pretty good and I have an eye for detail, so I guess this
particular copy of Underworld was "unfucked-up".

The soundtrack was by Paul Haslinger. He has worked with Tangerine Dream
in the past, and he put out a pretty cool CD back in the mid-90's called
"World Without Rules". It's more melodious than the Underworld soundtrack.
It reminds me of Juno Reactor with a slower beat. Here's a review:
http://www.spiderbytes.com/ambientrance/has-wwr.htm


Underworld was good popcorn. As far as action films go, it's not bad.

Profile

egypturnash: (Default)
Margaret Trauth

October 2020

S M T W T F S
    123
45678 910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 02:28 pm