While some of the guy's suggestions make sense logically, human nature works against it. Example--the 405/ 10 split, where the 405 loses a lane, and always causes a big problem. All of the regular commuters know about this split, and most get out of the lane that vanishes well ahead of the merge. Because of this, that particular lane always moves much faster than the rest of the traffic. So some people jump into that lane to zoom ahead, then try to bully thier way back in when the lane vanishes. The people who got out of the lane back before it began vanishing don't feel like letting in the 'cheaters' who try to cut ahead, and the result is a solid mass of cars that refuse to let the people in, and then nobody moves.
...if one person pulls the trick in that article on the way past that split, they'd effectively let several of those 'stuck cars' back onto the main road, pulling them out by purposefully providing a nicely-sized break in the 'anti cheater' wall.
He actually goes into relative detail about almost that exact situation in the FAQ he has about that page. :-)
Unfortunately, that gets the drivers behind the guy who lets in the cheaters absolutely furious. Not a good idea in a city where people have been known to shoot drivers that get them mad. The drivers out here are hyper-agressive, every-man-for-himself. I've seen people try to run other guys off the road, and other agressive behavior. And really, if I'm waiting in a long line of cars, why the hell should I reward some a-hole that tries to zoom around everyone else?
I've made just about all the same conclusions as this 'driver' after many years of travel myself. I believe others have too- if you ever see two trucks driving side by side even though one of the two lanes of slowed traffic is open; it seems insane, but chances are- the lane that is open is the lane that will have to merge due to road construction ahead- and the truck drivers are actually trying to do the rest of the traffic pattern a favor just as observed in the "eatig traffic waves" section of the web site.
I think this kind of thing is a reality and it should be taught to drivers before they renew their lisences, or before they get their first one...
The amount of cars on the raod has increased by 10%, while the amount of new roads and lanes has only increased by 1%. So something like re-education would be a good solution to a growing problem.
Of course, the best solution that the author avoided suggesting would be to just live closer to work.
On some parts of the freeways around Toronto there are chevrons painted on the road, about 30 yards apart. Along with these there are overhead signs reading "Keep back two chevrons." These markers are about one second apart when driving at the speed limit, so keeping two of them between my car and the one in front assures that I'm following the "two second rule" for maintaining a safe following distance, which the driving instructors say I should do anyway.
Several years ago Ontario instituted a system of automated speed traps, where cars detected as exceeding the speed limit had their license plates photographed, and a fine mailed to the owner of the car. This system was exceedingly unpopular and was eventually rescinded, but there was a noticeable decline in the severity of traffic jams while it was in place.
no subject
Date: 2003-01-15 10:30 pm (UTC)Except here's the gimmick...
Date: 2003-01-16 08:37 am (UTC)He actually goes into relative detail about almost that exact situation in the FAQ he has about that page. :-)
Re: Except here's the gimmick...
Date: 2003-01-16 10:33 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2003-01-15 10:38 pm (UTC)(bitter Seattle driver) ;)
meena meena meena
Date: 2003-01-16 03:40 am (UTC)Re: meena meena meena
Date: 2003-01-16 09:14 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2003-01-16 07:31 am (UTC)I think this kind of thing is a reality and it should be taught to drivers before they renew their lisences, or before they get their first one...
The amount of cars on the raod has increased by 10%, while the amount of new roads and lanes has only increased by 1%. So something like re-education would be a good solution to a growing problem.
Of course, the best solution that the author avoided suggesting would be to just live closer to work.
no subject
Date: 2003-01-16 06:35 pm (UTC)On some parts of the freeways around Toronto there are chevrons painted on the road, about 30 yards apart. Along with these there are overhead signs reading "Keep back two chevrons." These markers are about one second apart when driving at the speed limit, so keeping two of them between my car and the one in front assures that I'm following the "two second rule" for maintaining a safe following distance, which the driving instructors say I should do anyway.
Several years ago Ontario instituted a system of automated speed traps, where cars detected as exceeding the speed limit had their license plates photographed, and a fine mailed to the owner of the car. This system was exceedingly unpopular and was eventually rescinded, but there was a noticeable decline in the severity of traffic jams while it was in place.