egypturnash: (bleah)
[personal profile] egypturnash


We're gonna finally ship that Boo Boo cartoon off to CN. Before burning it onto a CD, I decided to make sure I was sending the latest version. Smart idea, right?

Well.

For some reason, Flash has decided to absolutely fuck up on some of the audio. I'd done some tricks to boost the levels of some dialogue that was recorded too low, and they used to work... but now those parts are coming out ultra-quiet. Again. In an exported file that used to play back fine, I swear it did, honest.

I'm fixing it by individually exporting each layer of audio then mashing them together in another program that DOESN'T SUCK ASS, then importing the resulting huge audio files into Flash. I wanted to avoid this while actually editing the cartoon, but the thing is done now; I can afford to lock in all the audio timing.

I never want to use Flash again. Especially for anything as huge as this thing has become.

Spümcø is, it seems, going to shift from Premiere to Final Cut Pro for animatics and such. FCPro is made by Apple, but I believe it was originally a Macromedia product. This worries me. My experience with Flash (and, long ago, with Director) has made me reluctant to touch anything Macromedia's made, because so far, it has all been intensely annoying in the long run...

Date: 2002-09-13 07:15 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] minakawa.livejournal.com
Macromedia never really made any of their own stuff except for Director. What's now known as Director or Shockwave started life in the 80s, as a product called VideoWorks.

Flash is a descendant of a program called FutureSplash Animator, which they bought.

As for Final Cut Pro, the project was actually spearheaded by the person who created Adobe Premiere. He moved with the project to Apple and still works there. I think it's a very good program.

Date: 2002-09-14 05:08 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] electricdog.livejournal.com
I know what you mean about Flash and Director... I had to use them at college and they're among the worst programs I've ever had the displeasure to use.

Interesting you should mention Final Cut Pro... I'm due to be using that on the film/TV course (http://www.shiftmedia.org.uk) I'm starting soon. I've not seen it working so I can't really comment on how good or bad it is. I doubt it's going to be worse than Flash/Director, anyhow.

Profile

egypturnash: (Default)
Margaret Trauth

October 2020

S M T W T F S
    123
45678 910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 05:28 pm