hellboy

Apr. 3rd, 2004 03:38 pm
egypturnash: (Default)
[personal profile] egypturnash
Saw the Hellboy movie today. I liked it. It took a lot of liberties with the source material, but enough stuff stayed the same, and the atmosphere remained - and that's a lot of the appeal of the comic to me, the visual mood and the sense of pacing, the change between slow, moody parts and crazy action.

I laughed at a lot of things most people wouldn't have - Ashy noted that every time there was a shot of a statue on-screen, it pretty much got a giggle out of me, because I've studied and analyzed Mignola's comics enough to know a bunch of his schtick. Lingering panel of a statue? Snowy graveyard setting? Yep. Hellboy. And yes, there is a part where he's punching monsters and saying "POW!" as he hits. All the little bits that were probably represented in the original boards by a panel torn out of Wake The Devil or Seed Of Destruction got a giggle from me. (The story is pretty much WTD crossed with SoD, with a little bit of the explicit prophecy from Conqueror Worm thrown in. Oh, and a defining moment from Box Full Of Evil, and a nod to The Corpse.)

I didn't like that they turned Abe into a psychic, but this was made up for by the fact that he was totally sexy. I want to have Abe's tadpoles. I want to hear fishy little whispers as I stare into those huge black iris-blinking eyes. (Have I ever mentioned that I'm a xenophile?) The love affair was jarring and formulaic, and the transformation of Karl from a quiet mad scientist into what he is here was... different. Ashy really loathed that because she has a thing for mad science; I thought it was okay because what he is here still fit the general mood of Hellboy, if not the established canon.

But my view on adaptations has changed a lot, after contemplating the Harry Potter movies and the Lord of the Rings movies. A comic is not a movie is not a novel is not a short story is not a series. I think it has to change in the process. How many good novelizations have you read?

Anyway. Not anally true to the comic by any means. But true to the feel and the mood and the rhythm of the comic. I'm a fan of the original and I thought this was a pretty decent adaptation. Not a great one, but it's pretty much exactly what I'd have expected out of a Hellboy movie: monster-whomping with the Right Hand Of Doom, apocalyptic rumblings, tentacles (♥), Abe, Liz, Broom, and a general sense of fun.

Date: 2004-04-03 03:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dv-girl.livejournal.com
Mmm. I agree. Abe is hot!

Date: 2004-04-03 05:07 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kensan-oni.livejournal.com
Yeah, Abe is... :')

I did love the visual direction of this movie, though. I had only flipped through a couple of Hellboy's when I was looking for something new. I never really read any of them, but I did love the look, and it was nice to see that they kept paying homage to the look.

As I said in my journal, Hellboy is what Spiderman could have been, but wasn't. I am glad that they got this one right.

Date: 2004-04-03 10:09 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] doctorpinkerton.livejournal.com
Hmmmm... so it was worth seeing, eh? So the question now becomes, for me - see Hellboy first? Or see Home on the Range (and never another new Disney movie again!) Decisions...

Date: 2004-04-04 02:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] paka.livejournal.com
Everyone else is lusting after Abe, and I... well, Liz reminds me a lot of someone I had a huge crush on. I feel so boring. I really didn't really like what they did with Kroenen; a super-assassin is just so stereotypically Hollywood, and because it's "cool," he takes up way too much of the film. Which is time that has to come from somewhere, and that "somewhere" is Ilsa, and she winds up having no personality as a result.

Date: 2004-04-04 02:56 pm (UTC)
ext_646: (Default)
From: [identity profile] shatterstripes.livejournal.com
If it helps any, I also kinda got a little hot for the Sadu-Hem that Rasputin horked up at the end. I mean, it'd need a little discipline so's not to kill you, but...

...I suspect I might have been lusting after Nightcrawler like most of the geekgrrls I know if I'd bothered to see any of the X-Men movies. But the franchise never did much for me, so I didn't bother.

Date: 2004-04-04 05:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] justabox.livejournal.com
The atmosphere was there but all the soul was gone. I love Hellboy mostly because it's an intelligent action comic (with healthy levels of low-handed messages about free will and humanity, which the film way overvalued - I think I will call this MATRIX SYNDROME from now on, turning an action film into bogus philosphy through cheesy plot devices). Too bad the movie didn't have any intelligence to it.

Stylistically, though, it looked exactly like it should have.

Profile

egypturnash: (Default)
Margaret Trauth

October 2020

S M T W T F S
    123
45678 910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 08:07 pm